Board of Education

The Board of Education is popularly elected to rotating six year terms in November of even numbered years.  The Board's responsibilities include establishing policy, representing community values, setting district goals, and approving the allocation of resources. 

The Board establishes subcommittees to deal with various tasks such as negotiations with employee groups and planning for facility expansions and upgrades.

Current Members

Melissa VanDerHulst, President (2018) 
Loren Joostberns,  Vice-President (2018) 
Amy Berarducci, Secretary (2020)
Corla Wedeven, Treasurer (2020)
Mike Jurries, Trustee (2020)
Ben Randle, Trustee, (2018)
Jason Thomas, Trustee (2022)


The public is invited to attend all meetings and workshops of the Board. All board meetings provide time for elected trustees and the administration to hear your concerns and opinions on any school-related topic, whether or not it is on the agenda. Members of the public are encouraged to contact the Board Office (269-751-5148) seven (7) days preceding any regularly scheduled board meeting to request an item be placed on the agenda.

Although public comments are encouraged by the Board, it is the policy of the Board of Education to defer answers or comments to a later time. Prior to placing an item on the agenda, the following steps should have been met when the issue pertains to a building or department level concern:

STEP 1 - Contact Staff Member
STEP 2 - Contact Principal
STEP 3 - Contact Superintendent
STEP 4 - Contact Board of Education

Melissa VanDerHulst,  President
Loren Joostberns, Vice-President
Amy Berarducci, Secretary
Corla Wedeven, Treasurer​
Mike Jurries, Trustee
Ben Randle, Trustee
Jason Thomas, Trustee
HCS Board of Education
4815 136th Ave.
Hamilton, MI  49419

Board Meetings

The Board of Education holds regular meetings on the second Monday of each month at 7:00 pm at the Middle School Library, with an exception in May.  The May meeting is held the third Monday in order to comply with laws regarding ISD elections.  Board meetings are open to the public and opportunities are given for public input. 

August 14, 2017                               December 11, 2017                         April 9, 2018
September 11, 2017                         January 8, 2018                              *May 21, 2018- 3rd Week
October 9, 2017                               February 12, 2018                           June 11, 2018
November 13, 2017                         March 12, 2018     

Board Bits Blog...

The Board had an organizational meeting on January 8, 2018 at the Middle School Library.  The meeting began at 7:00 p.m.

Melissa VanDerHulst was elected as President by a vote of 6-0.
Loren Joostberns was elected as Vice-President by a vote of 6-0.
Amy Berarducci was elected as Secretary by a vote of 6 - 0.
Corla Wedeven was elected as Treasurer by a vote of 6 - 0.           

The following committee assignments were approved:
MASB Legislative Liaison - Jason Thomas
Ottawa Area School Board Association Representative - Corla Wedeven
Athletic Council Representative - Loren Joostberns                                                                        
Summer Tax Collection Committee - Loren Joostberns, Ben Randle, & Jason Thomas
Non-Union Personnel Committee - Mike Jurries, Ben Randle, & Jason Thomas
Scholarship Committee - Corla Wedeven, Amy Berarducci, & Loren Joostberns
Custodial Negotiation Committee - Melissa VanDerHulst, Mike Jurries, & Ben Randle
Teacher Negotiation Committee - Melissa VanDerHulst, Loren Joostberns, & Amy Berarducci
Budget Committee - Jason Thomas, Loren Joostberns, & Melissa VanDerHulst     
Facilities Committee - Amy Berarducci, Jason Thomas, & Ben Randle               


The Board had a regular meeting on February 8, 2018 at the Middle School Library.  The meeting began at 7:00 p.m.

The Board approved the following items:

  • Bond Refunding
  • Middle School and Elementary /School renovation bid approvals
  • 2017-2108 Budget revisions
  • NEOLA Policies

 There were two public comment opportunities.  No one addressed the Board.